Light Bulbs & Darkness

There has been a slight disaster in my life. Last night my new external hard drive failed and crashed. All is not lost, however, as I have a solution that works. I’m just lacking the time to let a computer run for 15 hours or more to restore it all. Hopefully I will get everything back in it’s correct order by next week. What this means, however, is that there are no weekly photos of mine for this post as they were all on the hard drive. I do have a backup of them, although, I’d rather get the most recent and edited versions if I can manage to do so.

As for my thoughts this week, I feel like I may step on a few toes with what I have written. Please, let me know your thoughts… I’m curious about your opinions.

What is Your Wattage? [Part 2]

I came up with this analogy a while back. If a light globe blows out in your house, there are four general options to take. You can either leave the room in darkness, use on old globe with a connection that works sometimes, buy a cheap globe that only shines dimly, saving power, or you can purchase one that will illuminate all the dark corners of your room, potentially saving some items that could get lost in the dark spaces.

In my opinion, life is like this situation. Although there are a variety of people in the world, each in their individual circumstances, everyone falls into one of two categories. Each person either has their light shining or they need a new one. Some are shining their light brightly with maximum wattage while others are running on the power savers. And those in the second category don’t have a light globe at all or have had their connection blown.

Sometimes I feel that when disaster strikes and lights go out, there are four similar options available. We can give up on Christ, and let our lives turn to ‘the dark side,’ and decide that pursuing a Christ-like life based on faith is useless and not worth the time or energy. We can drop the standards of our choices and let our light flicker. We don’t want to give up all the excitement that this world has to offer, but we still want to keep our foot in the door so our light flickers on maybe once a week on the weekend. We can run our lives on an power saver globe, reducing the amount of Energy we draw from the Power Source, and limiting the wattage output. Or we can choose the brightest light, and focus all our energy on shining our light into the world around us.

Salvation is all about the gift of grace, but what is our response to that gift? Think about this question in relation to the text below.

Part 3 next week.

Contemplation Point

I think the verse below is a powerful one, especially in the paraphrased form that The Message presents it in.

“You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine!” — Matthew 5:14-16 The Message

Weekly Photo — Approaching London

The photo below was taken by Trey Ratcliff, a professional photographer in the US. He is the #1 travel photography blogger and posts one of his shots every day here. This shot in London is one of my favourites that he has posted in the last week.

Leave a Reply

