Love It or Hate It

Yesterday was a public holiday here too. Liberation Day recognises the day the current government came into power 24 years ago. “The National Resistance Army led by Yoweri Museveni (the current president) captured power from the military junta after a five-year guerilla war”. It was good to have the day off – throughout the day I worked on the report William gave me to do and I got that finished in the afternoon. I was also able to spend a lot of the day online at the same time people at home were. Catching up with some friends is good when you’ve been out of the loop for a little while.

Today was crazy. I was ready this morning at 8 am so waited in the foyer until it was time to go. That turned out to be two hours later. That was fine. I presumed we would be at the office just after 12 and have lunch a little later. However, ‘African Time’ was in full swing this morning. We didn’t get to the office until 1:30 pm. I don’t mind taking over 3 hours to get somewhere if it’s 300 km or even 150 km. But this morning it was only a 50 km journey. Celina did a bit in Kampala again so the rest of us waited in the car. Eventually we had 4 people across the back and I’m fairly certain that if everyone was sitting as cramped as I was we could have sat 6 across.

The day was another long and non-eventful one. We stayed in the office all day, which really was all afternoon, except for a break for lunch down in the village. We left there at 8 pm arriving back here just after 9:30. Such a long time. African time is one of those things you either love or hate!

For me, unfortunately today I wasn’t liking it.

Leave a Reply

